Psllivecricket t20 world cup 2022 New Captain Announced As Kane Williamson Relinquishes New Zealand Test Captaincy – Cricket Addictor

New Captain Announced As Kane Williamson Relinquishes New Zealand Test Captaincy – Cricket Addictor

wp header logo 648

Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.
The Home of Cricket Addicts
The 32-year-old New Zealand National Cricket Team star batter Kane Williamson has decided to relinquish Test captaincy and the veteran right-arm pacer Tim Southee has been named as his successor with Tom Latham serving as his deputy.
Kane Williamson, who will probably go down as New Zealand’s greatest batsman by the time he retires, was appointed as captain after the retirement of Brendon McCullum in 2016. He led the Black Caps to 22 triumphs in 40 Tests.
IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023

Kane Williamson
New Zealand with the ICC WTC Mace [Image- Getty]

Under his leadership, New Zealand National Cricket Team won the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship by defeating Virat Kohli-led India National Cricket Team in 2021.
In an official statement issued by New Zealand Cricket (NZC), Kane Williamson said that leading New Zealand has been an “incredibly special honour” for him, but the time has come to relinquish Test captaincy. Williamson was confident that the newly-appointed leaders – Southee and Latham – will do a great job in Test cricket.
IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023
“Captaining the BLACKCAPS in Test cricket has been an incredibly special honour. Captaincy comes with an increased workload on and off the field and at this stage of my career, I feel the time is right for this decision. After discussions with NZC, we felt that continuing to captain the white-ball formats was preferable with two World Cups in the next two years,” he said.
“I’m excited to support Tim as captain and Tom as vice-captain. Having played with both of them for most of my career, I’m confident they’ll do a great job. Playing for the BLACKCAPS and contributing in all three formats is my number one priority and I’m looking forward to the cricket we have ahead,” he added.
Talking about Kane Williamson, New Zealand National Cricket Team head coach Gary Stead said that the 32-year-old led from the front with his performances in Test cricket. He said:
Kane’s guided the Test team through an immensely successful period which is testament to his ability to bring people together and work towards a common goal. He’s certainly led from the front with his own performances and that was very much the case during our push to win the World Test Championship.
“We hope by lessening his workload we can continue to see the best of Kane Williamson for longer on the international stage, and we know he will remain a key leader in this group.”
New Zealand’s Test captaincy is indeed in safe hands as Southee is one of the most experienced Kiwi players, who has played 346 international matches. Southee, who will become New Zealand’s 31st Test captain, has already led the Black Caps in 22 T20Is and Tom Latham has also led the Kiwis on a few occasions in Test cricket.
Also Read: Babar Azam Named Skipper Of Peshawar Zalmi For PSL 2023
Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Ca Tele
Something went wrong. Please refresh the page and/or try again.

India National Cricket Team
Afghanistan National Cricket Team
Australia National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team
England Cricket Team
Ireland Cricket Team
New Zealand National Cricket Team
Pakistan National Cricket Team
South Africa National Cricket Team
Sri Lanka National Cricket Team
West Indies Cricket Team
Zimbabwe National Cricket Team
Big Bash League
Bangladesh Premier League
Indian Premier League
Pakistan Super League
India vs Sri Lanka
Australia vs New Zealand
T10 League
Women Big Bash League
Vitality T20 Blast
Caribbean Premier League
Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma
Babar Azam
Faf du Plessis
Steve Smith
Kane Williamson
Joe Root
David Warner
Jason Roy
Quinton de Kock


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post