Psllivecricket t20 world cup 2022 Pak vs Ban: Babar Azam steadies Green Shirts with unbeaten fifty –

Pak vs Ban: Babar Azam steadies Green Shirts with unbeaten fifty –

wp header logo 765

Captain Babar Azam struck a fifty to help Pakistan make steady progress against Bangladesh before bad light forced early stumps on the first day of the second Test in Dhaka on Saturday.
Play did not resume after the tea break, with Pakistan, who chose to bat, on 161-2 as Azam hit an unbeaten 60 off 99 balls.
Number three Azhar Ali was accompanying Azam on 36 not out when play was suspended.
The duo put on 91 runs in their unbroken third-wicket stand after Bangladesh left-arm spinner Taijul Islam removed both openers in the morning session.
Azam led the batting charge hitting seven fours and a six so far, and brought up his 19th Test fifty after rain briefly halted the game.
Islam earlier ended a 59-run opening partnership when he bowled Abdullah Shafique for 25 runs through the gate, before Abid Ali chopped one onto his stumps after knocking up 39 runs including six boundaries.
Islam could also have dismissed Azhar if the third umpire had not given him the benefit of the doubt.
Bangladesh reviewed the not out call from the on-field umpire and with the ultra-edge showing an inconclusive touch of the ball to bat, the decision could not be overturned.
Pakistan lead the two-Test series 1-0 after winning the first Test in Chittagong by eight wickets.
The visitors fielded an unchanged squad from the first Test while Bangladesh handed Mahmudul Hasan a Test debut and brought in Shakib Al Hasan and Khaled Ahmed in three changes to the team.
Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali and Abu Jayed were dropped from the opening Test.
Pakistan: Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam (captain), Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan, Faheem Ashraf, Nauman Ali, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Sajid Khan
Bangladesh: Shadman Islam, Mahmudul Hasan, Najmul Hossain, Mominul Haque (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Khaled Ahmed
Umpires: Michael Gough (ENG), Sharfuddoula (BAN) TV Umpire: Gazi Sohel (BAN) Match Referee: Neeyamur Rashid (BAN) Pvt. Ltd. ( for Dawn.
Copyright © 2022, Dawn
Scribe Publishing Platform


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post